IKEA & The Body Project

Wednesday, Adrienne, Rayna and I trekked to IKEA to work on our various projects–an odd location, I know.  Rayna is a photographer, Adrienne paints, and I went to work on the Body Project.  IKEA in Beijing is an expedition much like it is in the States.  In Beijing, unlike the States, the shoppers get very involved in “testing” the products.  Almost every couch, bed, and chair had someone resting in it.  As you walk through the rooms full of different mattresses to try the beds, each bed is either occupied or tossled as if someone had just gotten out.  The photo below is of an angelic little baby testing out the crib for her mom (behind four people are filling out Body Project cards).

The incredibly relaxed shopping method at IKEA in Beijing was an ideal location for be to begin the China part of the Body Project.  The Body Project is a simple task, I ask people to briefly describe their bodies to me.  The collection of descriptions will lead to an art project.  I approached different clumps of people, said “nee-hao,” and the pointed to the Mandarin part of the card.  I 24 people participated and 17 people politely declined.  It was an amazing experience and I’m excited to keep going.  If you would like to participate submit a description of your body on my website!  Answer the question, “Please briefly describe your body.” To see the official description of the project click here and use the contact form to submit your answer here. You will remain anonymous and if you are not comfortable using your email address use katesbodyproject[at]gmail[dot]com, password 123body123. I will post more about the project as it progresses.

Yesterday I went on a trip to the 798 arts district, I’ll fill you in soon!

UPDATE:  There have been some problems with my email address and contact page on my blog and website.  Please send any Body Project contributions to katherine[dot]korroch[at]gmail[dot]com.  Thank you and I apologize for the confusion.

Leave a Reply

