Chaochangdi

Hello, all!  I have been back in the States for about a week.  The jet lag is gone and I’m ready to catch you up on the adventures and art.  My time in China and South Korea was incredible to say the least–I learned a lot and met amazing people.

This post is long over due.  Chad and I visited Chaochangdi almost a month ago.  You might remember our visit from this picture.  This post is a small collection of artwork we saw at Three Shadows Gallery which was designed by Ai Weiwei.  The space was great and we really enjoyed the artwork in it.  The whole time we were there I couldn’t stop thinking about our close friend and talented photographer, Zane Davis.

The work above captured my attention immediately.  It is Chen Zhe’s series Body / Wound Series created from 2008-2010.  The abstraction of the body is wonderful.  Upon immediate approach I was not clear on the subject matter.  As I stood infront of the works I began picking out different parts.  I love bodies as puzzles that can be taken apart, mixed and put back together.  Below is a different view, I apologize for the glare.

The next grouping is by the same artist.  For this work she won the 2011 Three Shadows Photography Award.

When I visit an art space I have to decide how I will approach the artwork.  Sometimes I read about the artist and the work before I look at the pieces.  This method gives an immediate context and in many ways makes the art more accessible.  My preferred method, which is a bit more challenging at times, is to enter a work of art through my own raw, uninfluenced interpretation.  With the piece above I did so.  I thought of the way my brain feels after being online bumming around the internet for a long time.  My brain bounced around, I couldn’t settle on an image.  I barely noticed the sliced arm in the center.

Yang Nannan created the photographs above.  I think the series is called The Other Side Series but my notes are unclear.  Yang photographs cross-dressers and transexuals.  On the title card the artist says, “The Other Side is my exploration into the things behind mainstream society…I hope that these works will allow people to reexamine respect and violation, normal and abnormal, and moral and immoral.  I want to give the audience a new understanding of human nature, emotions, desires, instincts, and social roles.”

The last photo I took of Chad at Platform China in honor of his employer, Groupon, who is very generous with many, many things including Vitamin Water.

2 thoughts on “Chaochangdi

Leave a Reply

