My Body Gallery

Zane Davis recently sent me an email with a link to www.mybodygallery.com.  The website is a place to see images of “what real women look like.”  You can search by combinations of height, weight, clothing size, etc.  A user can also click on the body type.  I entered my body and there was no match–I am my own little snowflake.

Above is a screen shot of pear shaped women who share my height and weight (but not my clothing size).

This is what My Body Gallery says about itself, “In a world full of images of how we “should” look it can get difficult to tell how we DO look.  Our hope is to build a site where women can see what real women look like.  What we really look like.  Most women have spent so many years looking at themselves in mirrors that we can no longer see what’s really there.  The My Body Gallery project’s goal is to help women objectively see what we look like and come to some acceptance that we are all beautiful.”

Some of my “off the cuff” thoughts:

*Is this website empowering, objectifying, something else?  Both?

*I searched for my own body type.  Is that a “female” thing to do?  Would men use this site differently?

*Is there a similar site for men?

*I am very curious about the demographic of the participants.

Zane, thanks for sharing!   Bodies and how we approach them is so fascinating.

 

3 thoughts on “My Body Gallery

  1. Interesting. I think it is suppose to encourage people to be realistic about their bodies. We are not the models we see in the media nor should we be. We just need to take care of what God gave us.
    A criticism I have of this is that they all look about 25-35 years old. Gravity has not taken its toll and it would be misleading to think that it never does.
    Comparison is the thief of joy. I like snowflakes!

    Like

  2. I worry about how this site, while meaning to be empowering by restoring “true” images, also results in a further commodification of the female form. These images of bodies are separated and packaged by type; identifiable not by a face or story but by a string of numbers. While I think that the goals are commendable, I fear that the site inadvertently re-inscribes the meanings on the female form that it sets out to erase.

    Like

  3. Steph, I agree. I am also looking at it from the gender perspective. Why is it a site just for women? All genders should be able to feel empowered by their bodies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

