Italian Archive

Just over six years ago I moved to Cortona, a small town in Tuscany.  A few months later I moved to Perguia, Umbria where my painting was the best it has yet to be.  This morning as I was looking through my photos for thesis references I came upon the painting below.

This painting is of my roommate and wonderful friend, Bettylou.  She sat for hours for me while I painted this.  Looking back, it was actually a decent painting but I wasn’t satisfied with it and painted a huge pineapple over it which inspired yet another huge pineapple.  I am very happy where I am in my life as an artist and creative (and person) but running into photos from this time in my life definitely makes me nostalgic for oil painting and my little studio in Perugia.

Leave a Reply

