Inky Bodies and Christmas Memories

First, thank you to Zane Davis (who just recently added a comment feature to his tumblr!) for bringing this to my attention.

In my late toddler years my Mom, Dad. and I lived outside of Boston.  Overall my memories of Boston (Londonderry, New Hampshire) are filled with things like carrot soup, playing with my best friend, ballet class, the Boston Red Socks and the Boston Ballet’s Nutcracker.  Daddy always talks about taking me to the Nutcracker and sitting up so high that we could see the perfect patterns the dancers made in the snow.  I think most of my memory of  this through his retelling of it.  I also think those years visiting the museums and going to the ballet had a huge impact on the adult I have become.

[iframe_loader width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/UW46mUXu1Cs” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen]

I was reminded of my childhood in the chilly northeast when Zane sent me a link to a performance by Shen Wei Dance Arts.  How I wish I had stuck with those Russian Ballet classes I started when I was 3 (and stopped when I was 6).  In the performance some of the dancers use ink to trace the pattern of their movement with ink.  It is beautiful yet visceral and I highly suggest you take three minutes to watch their performance.

Source.

Leave a Reply

